

Miss Santa Cruz County, 1924-2000

The sources of the following information are *Santa Cruz Sentinel* (various dates) and the *Miss Santa Cruz County Pageant Executive Board*. Reference staff was unable to determine why there are gaps in chronological sequence.

| Date | Name | Winner of Miss California or other special awards |
|------|--------------------|---|
| 1924 | Mary Black | • |
| 1925 | Yetta Haber | |
| 1926 | Bertha Wiezel | Miss California |
| 1936 | Cynthia Currall | |
| 1938 | Gloria Daily | |
| 1947 | Dixie Dotson | |
| 1954 | Alice Holland | |
| 1955 | Barbara Harris | Miss California |
| 1956 | Jeanne Robertson | |
| 1957 | Jeanine Larsen | |
| 1958 | Mary Ann Arras | |
| 1959 | Anna Volpini | |
| 1960 | Lacretia Wilson | |
| 1961 | Linda Epperson | |
| 1962 | Wendy Robinson | |
| 1963 | Ja Vaughn | |
| 1964 | Elizabeth Bohlmann | Semifinalist |
| 1965 | Donna Gearhart | |
| 1966 | Cheryl Moore | |
| 1967 | Jeanne Ayedelotte | |
| 1968 | Kathy Lowry | |
| 1969 | Jill Kostenko | Semifinalist |

| Date | Name | Winner of Miss California |
|------|-------------------------|---|
| | | or other special awards |
| 1970 | Dede Moore | Semifinalist |
| 1971 | Roe Sands | |
| 1972 | Janice Louise Todd | Miss Congeniality |
| 1973 | Pam Scott | |
| 1974 | Chris Allegri | Semifinalist, Preliminary Talent |
| 1975 | Rebecca Doerr | |
| 1976 | Phyllis Hamlin | |
| 1977 | Kathy DeMoro | |
| 1978 | Barbara Bowen | First Runner-Up |
| 1979 | Tamara Pfell | Preliminary Swimsuit |
| | | Miss California Emblem Club Scholarship |
| 1980 | Carrie Kelsey | Third Runner-Up |
| 1981 | Kristin Cathrein | Second Runner-Up, Preliminary Swimsuit |
| 1982 | Laurie Christine Rizzo | Semifinalist |
| 1983 | Karen-Kay Eriksson | |
| 1984 | Mara Miller | Semifinalist, Miss Congeniality |
| 1985 | Patricia Flowers | |
| 1986 | Stacy Maller | |
| 1987 | Patricia Annoni | |
| 1988 | Malinda Joan Frey | *(see note below) |
| 1989 | Anjela Stellato | Semifinalist |
| 1990 | Malinda Joan Frey | Semifinalist, Preliminary Swimsuit |
| | | Quality of Life Scholarship |
| 1991 | Lisa Nichole Liberatore | |
| 1992 | Lynn Bachelor | |
| 1993 | Krisiti Fisher | |
| 1994 | Heather Dufau | |
| 1995 | Shanelle Campbell | |
| 1996 | Rebecca Ventura | |
| 1997 | Jennifer Sisco-Moore | Semifinalist, Leni Arnhym Classical Performer Award |
| 1998 | Valerie Grace La France | |
| 1999 | Randi Armour | |
| 2000 | Darci Robertson | |

^{*}Michele Anderson was crowned Miss Santa Cruz County in 1988. She lost the title at the Miss California Pageant after she pulled a banner out of her top that denounced pageants. Her successor was Malinda Joan Frey.

It is the library's intent to provide accurate information, however, it is not possible for the library to completely verify the accuracy of all information. If you believe that factual statements in a local history article are incorrect and can provide documentation, please contact the library.