## SANTA CRUZ PUBLIC LIBRARIES

## Santa Cruz Board of Trustees and Presidents, 1866-1875

In 1866, the City of Santa Cruz incorporated as a town. The incorporation papers specified that the town would be governed by an elected Board of Trustees. The members of the Board selected one of their members to be the President of the Board. Unless otherwise noted, the date after a name is the date the person assumed office. After the minutes of 4/30/1868, the next recorded minutes are for 5/8/1869.

Year	President		Trustees
1866	S.W. Field (5-18-66)	•	Amasa Pray
		•	George C. Stevens
1867	Amasa Pray (5-14-67)	•	George C. Stevens
		•	Elihu Anthony (5-14-67)
1868	Amasa Pray	•	George C. Stevens
			(resigned 4-30-68)
		•	Elihu Anthony
			(resigned 4-30-68)
1869	J. S. Green	•	J. N. Besse
		•	A. R. Meserve
1870	Joseph Boston (5-11-70)	•	A. R. Meserve
		•	E. Briody (5-11-70)
1871	J. N. Besse (5-2-71)	•	R. C. Kirby (5-2-71)
		•	J. J. Smith (5-2-71)
1872	G. B. V. Delemater (5-16-72)	•	William Ely (5-16-72)
		•	Charles Brown (5-16-72)
1873	J. S. Green (5-10-73)	•	A. Pray (5-10-73)
		•	F. A. Hihn (5-10-73)
1874	J. S. Green (5-6-74)	•	A. Pray
		•	F.A. Hihn
1875	David Hinds (5-7-75)	•	H. W. Pope (5-7-75)
		•	George T. Gregg (5-7-75)

Information is from the Santa Cruz City Clerk's Office.

It is the library's intent to provide accurate information, however, it is not possible for the library to completely verify the accuracy of all information. If you believe that factual statements in a local history article are incorrect and can provide documentation, please contact the library.